The Friday mindshag #7

Nadia-bender-camilla-akrans-22713005(up Nadja Bender photographed by Camilla Akrans for Vogue Japan April 2013)

Photography.

I don’t really know where this passion for photography started, but I’ve had it since I can remember..my parents used to have a silly Polaroid and I enjoyed the vintage and the perfect in the imperfectly shaken instant photography that was developing in front of my eyes. Maybe it’s that. The certain thing is that I could live happily ever after by looking at photography. The cover photo by Camilla Akrans was not randomly chosen, she was one of the first discoveries I made when I seriously started to look into names, editorials, art.. When I started my tumblr page in the spring of 2011, Camilla’s shoots were one of the first things that my followers could see. Now I’m posting Testino, Demarchelier father and son, Juergen Teller, Nick Knight, Ellen von Unwerth,  Lagerfeld, LaChapelle, Tim Walker, Steven Klein, street photographers like Adam Katz Sinding from le 21eme, Nam from StreetFSN, Lee Oliveira, Tommy Ton from Jak&Jil, runway photographers…Hanneli Mustaparta, so many that I’m sure I won’t be able to link them all to you! Maybe one day I will have a huge glossary put online via The Style Side.

If there is one job I could do for the rest of my life and have no complain about it, looking at pictures all day would be it. The fabulousness in photography is that 1 it is able to immortalize a moment forever, 2 it takes you places you’ve never been before (now I know where I get my wanderlusts from) and 3 it makes you open to perspectives, different points of view, different styles and the ability to understand those styles.

“Always keep your eyes open, keep looking, you never know when something will inspire you” 

Grace Coddington, creative director Vogue USA

Untitled

(up glimpses from my tumblr archive from June 2014)

The emotions, thoughts, states of mind that photography achieves in a human being are like fireworks on the 4th of July. Good ones of course, although I am keen to believe that anyone can be a photographer, because he/she expresses something, it is a matter of perception and understanding more than good or bad. They say that the eye is an extension of the brain, so what forms behind your retina is beyond yourself, it about nature, chemistry, DNA.

I will see it when I believe it. 

Training your mind is training your eye and by seeing and looking and observing you can also train your mind. Stay focused and insert purpose into whatever you’re doing. I hope you enjoyed today’s shag, -A.

#tgif

 

Leave a Reply

